Premier’s Awards recognise excellence in energy and mining


Hon Steven Marshall MP


A meat processing plant generating electricity from waste water, a company transforming landfill into fuel and a global geoscience data competition accelerating the process of mineral discovery are just some of the innovative projects recognised in this year’s Premier Awards.

Now in its eighth year, the Awards showcase how leading-edge technology and best practice in energy and mining can improve South Australia’s economic, environmental, health and social wellbeing. 

“Innovation is integral to industry and employment growth in South Australia, and in the energy and resources sectors there is much to celebrate,” Premier Steven Marshall said.

“This year we received a record-breaking number of high calibre entries for the Premier’s Awards and so the winners illustrate the dynamic and transformative work undertaken in both sectors.”

Several of projects awarded at an event at the Intercontinental Hotel demonstrated how local companies are striving for a more sustainable future.

In particular, Adelaide Brighton Cement, Teys Naracoorte and CDE Meta have all discovered new options to reuse and recycle products traditionally considered to be waste.

“These companies show how there’s synergy between generating financial value with positive environmental outcomes and also between the resource sector and green, clean energy,” the Premier said.

Another winning entry included OZ Minerals’ collaboration with Unearthed for its million-dollar Explorer Challenge, in which competitors had three months to develop new processes for mineral exploration and improve discovery rates.

The Awards Program was also expanded this year to focus on innovation in health and safety, with Santos’ Line of Fire Campaign and BHP’s new Underground Mining School of Excellence joint winners within the Resources Sector.

Also new in 2019, was the introduction of the Young Achiever category, with radiation safety trainer and managing director of Radiation Consulting Australia, Daniel Emes, 29, named the inaugural winner.

“For years, the energy and mining sectors have set the example in programs to provide education, training, jobs and high-value opportunities for people across the state.

“The 2019 Young Achiever category highlights a future generation of South Australian leaders who champion their profession and set high aspirations to motivate others.”  


Innovation: Transformational Innovation

WINNER: ElectraNet: Dalrymple Battery Energy Storage System

COMMENDATION: Hydrostor: Angas Advanced Compressed Air Energy Storage (A-CAES) Project

Innovation: Productivity Improvement

WINNER: Teys Naracoorte: Teys Naracoorte Covered Anaerobic Lagoon to operate a Combined Heat and Power Plant

Innovation: Health and Safety

COMMENDATION: Enerven: Switch-ON Safety Program


COMMENDATION: Enerven: Diversity and Inclusion at Enerven


Innovation: Productivity Improvement

WINNER: CDE Meta: Turning iron ore waste into high value product

COMMENDATION: Resolution Systems: MaxMine – Turning Technology into Tonnes


Innovation: Environmental Management

WINNER: Adelaide Brighton Cement: Adelaide Brighton Cement Refuse Derived Fuel Program

COMMENDATION: BHP and Arid Recovery: Arid Recovery

COMMENDATION: SIMEC Mining: Innovation in dust source identification and monitoring

Innovation: Health and Safety

WINNER: BHP: Underground Mining School of Excellence

WINNER: Santos: Line of Fire Campaign

Innovation: Productivity Improvement

WINNER: OZ Minerals and Unearthed: OZ Minerals Explorer Challenge

COMMENDATION: Senex Energy: Birkhead horizontal drilling program

Working with Communities

WINNER: BHP and Healthy Environs: Time for Wellbeing – Community Health Partnership

COMMENDATION: Beach Energy Limited and the South Australian Museum: Fossil Fest


WINNER: Daniel Emes

FINALISTS: Nima Sherpa, Jonathan Luu and Thomas Bruning