About Stuart

The Electorate of Stuart was named after explorer John McDouall Stuart (1815-1866) who, among other accomplishments, pioneered a route from the south to the north of Australia. First named an electorate in 1936 but ceased to exist in 1993, the name Stuart was revived at the 1997 redistribution of electoral boundaries.

At the 2018 State election 23,420 electors were enrolled in Stuart.

The electorate of Stuart covers 330,656 square kilometres, extending from Kapunda at its southern end, all the way up to the Northern Territory border along the Oodnadatta Track and it heads east to the New South Wales border. It includes the Mid North agricultural region, all of the Flinders Ranges and the vast north-east pastoral region surrounded by the Northern Territory, Queensland and New South Wales. It includes the Birdsville and Strzelecki Tracks, Lake Eyre and Cooper Creek. The important regional city of Port Augusta is its heart and main population centre.

The seat encompasses a large portion of the State with many diverse industries, including farming/grazing/horticulture, mining/oil/gas, manufacturing, tourism, electricity generation and transmission, prisons, retail, trades and services.

Previous Members for Stuart

  • Dan van Holst Pellekaan (Liberal) 2010–present
  • Graham Gunn (Liberal) 1997–2010
  • Colleen Hutchison (Labor) 1989–1993
  • Gavin Keneally (Labor) 1970–1989
  • Lindsay Riches (Labor) 1938–1970

Pictures of Stuart