Tree change for regional SA


Tens of thousands of South Australians living in regional towns will soon see the benefits of less drastic tree trimming near powerlines after the Marshall Government extended the regulations that have applied in Adelaide for many years to a number of regional cities.

Gawler, Goolwa, Mount Barker, Mount Gambier, Murray Bridge, Port Augusta, Port Lincoln, Port Pirie, Victor Harbor and Whyalla will now have greater tree coverage as a result of the change in policy.

“Trees play a critical role in making urban and township environments attractive places to live, and the allowing vegetation to grow through low voltage powerlines will end the practice of disfiguring trees for no tangible sety benefit,” said Minister for Energy and Mining Dan van Holst Pellekaan.

“The same regulations were put in place for Adelaide in 2010 and the results are plain to see with residents enjoying the benefits of greater shade and cooler streets.

“Improving the urban canopy will reduce air pollution, reduce the heat island effect and support more birdlife in South Australia’s regional cities.

“Reducing the need for tree trimming complements the Marshall Government’s efforts to bring down electricity bills in South Australia by reducing the cost of delivering electricity to households and small businesses.”

In a related move, small areas of Loxton, Paringa, Wudinna and Mundoo Island have been moved to non-bushfire risk status that will also result in less vegetation being trimmed.
Both measures will improve the amenity of regional South Australia and will not impact on community safety.