Rural Women’s Award


The Member for Stuart, Dan van Holst Pellekaan MP, is pleased to advise applications for the 2019 AgriFutures Rural Women’s Award are now open.

The award acknowledges the outstanding contribution of women in rural communities, industries and businesses.

Mr van Holst Pellekaan says there are many extremely dedicated and capable women in the electorate of Stuart who would be very worthy nominees.

“At this year’s awards, Jo Bonner from Marree was named a South Australian finalist for her contribution to the local community through her business, as a relief teacher and on the progress association.

“Jo’s vision for the ‘Artback Rail Trail’ to celebrate art, the Old Ghan railway line and provide a new tourist attraction to the region was successfully launched this year and is a wonderful asset to our electorate.

“It would be wonderful to have other women from our electorate recognised and I would strongly encourage people to consider applying.”

The Rural Women’s Award provides a platform to inspire and support women to use and develop their skills, with a $10,000 financial bursary awarded to each state/territory winner to bring to life a project or initiative to benefit rural industries and communities.

For more information and to nominate visit


Nominations close on Wednesday, October 31.